Week 5

5 Oct

Well its becoming apparent to me pretty quickly that I have hit a plateau. Losing weight is going to be a little harder from the point forward. Im ok with putting in mass amounts of exercise, but I still have to do a better job of watching what I eat.

Day 1
Because its weigh in day, I did not eat any breakfast. I met John for our regular weigh-in. According to their scales, I was down right at 1.0 lb and John was down 2.6 lbs. That puts John 1.6 lbs ahead in our competition.
I end up going to Hy-vee and eating some sushi for lunch. I also had one chicken skewer and water. When got home from work I ran 5.0 miles on the treadmill. Dinner was leftover grilled chicken, with one biscuit and some gravy.

Day 2
Breakfast was one Pop-Tart pastry and a cup of coffee. Lunch was my crutch food, chinese buffet. No matter how hard I try, I just cant stay away! I want to, but on days when i know im not working out, I just cant help myself. No workout after work. Dinner was the Oriental Chicken Salad from Applebees. Again I was suprised by the large selection of seemingly healthy food I found on a restaurant menu. I doubt some of things that they show are truly as healthy as they claim though. Eating Healthy @ Applebees

Day 3
Breakfast was a granola bar and a cup of coffee. Lunch was a Subway footlong club sandwich. For dinner I ate a bowl of chilli. I also snacked on some cheese and some chips & salsa. For dessert I shared a bowl of apple crisp and vanilla ice cream with Darcie. I had not planned on going to a family gathering, but i ended up working late which caused me to not have transportation to get home. I therefore ended up going to a family gathering and not workng out. Sometimes plans go that way, so I have to adjust.

Day 4
Home alone all day today, I decide to put in some serious miles. I knew that 6-7 miles in one stretch was about my maximum so i formulated a plan to get more then that completed. I decided that I would attempt to run 10 miles, in 2 mile increments. I got up fairly early in the morning and started into it. I completed one session, and took a short break. I completed session #2 and took another short break. I did session #3 putting me at 6.0 miles for the day. I was fairly tired, and hungry at this point. I decided to get something to eat and pick this up later. I showered and changed into some dry clothes. I ate a large bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios. I sat down on the couch around 11:00am and ended up falling back asleep. I awoke around 1:00pm. I decided i better finish what i had started that morning. I got on the treadmill, blew past the 2 mile mark, and finished out the complete 4.0 miles. For the day I had completed 10 miles total. 2 showers and 3 sets of clothes later I was feeling pretty good about my day.
Saturday night I ended up going to play some cards. I ate the remainder of some leftover chicken we had which really only consisted of two full wings and also some baked fries before going to the game. After the game I went to iHop with some buddies and ate a roast beef sandwhich and some french fries. Im sure this completely negated the 10 miles I had ran earlier, but dang it was good! I did not drink any beer again this weekend, which is a fairly common thing for me.

Day 5
Another Sunday, another Chiefs game. This time I attended it though. My wife and Jaxon also went to the game. It turned out being a beautiful day, and not just because the Chiefs won! On the way to the game I had a cup of coffee and a granola bar. At the game I shared a basket of french fries and chicken strips with Darcie. We also shared a Sprite, which was on of the first pops I have had in awhile. Sunday evening I ate some takeout chinese food for a local place in Savannah. Again probably not the best day with greasy food and no exercise.

Day 6
Granola bar & coffee breakfast, Subway lunch, spaghetti dinner. I also ran 7.0 miles on the treadmill after work. Not much else to today.

Day 7
Granola bar & coffee breakfast. I ended up meeting John a day early to weigh in as I wont be able to tomorrow. This week I was down just under 1.0lb, at .6 lbs. John gained 3.0lbs but he blamed it on the jeans he was wearing and a large metal belt he had on. Nonetheless, I am currently 1.9lbs ahead on the bet!
We went to Hy-vee for lunch and I again had sushi,a chicken skewer, and a glass of water. After work I met another buddy at the track in Savannah for some running. Although I only put in 3.0 miles, I felt like i got a pretty good workout. Running outside is definitely different then on a treadmill. Dinner was fried pork chops and potatoes.

Summary
All in all it was probably another week of simply maintaining my current weight. I know that I have to eat better, I just have to get the will power to do it. John has gained weight 2:3 weeks so he isnt pushing me any. I kind of wish he would lose 5lbs this next week so I have some added motivation again. I really dont mind exercising, but I do love food!

Leave a comment